This is probably hardly “blog-worthy” but it was such a simple thing we’ve done in our kitchen, and it has had such a huge impact on the ease of our kitchen that I just had to write about it!

Want to know what the big deal is? Ta-da! We switched our “pantry” cupboard with our cupboard that housed our plates, bowls, and “fancy” glassware. Told you – so simple, but making life much easier for shorties like me. The cabinet that used to hold food was waaaayyy too deep to keep that job. We could never find anything, we couldn’t see anything, and I had to stand on a stool to even get in there. What a pain in the…anyway, one day a light bulb just came on for us! We kept our plates, bowls, pasta bowls and nice glassware (champagne flutes, martini glasses, wine glasses, etc.) in the most obvious cabinet to keep those types of things in. The problem is, our kitchen is so teeny and lacking major storage space, that we kept our pantry food in a deep cabinet above the microwave. Since we rarely ever use the “fancy” glassware these days, those got stored in the back of the deep cabinet behind the plates and bowls which we use daily.
Dish Cabinet
Now the food is stored in a shallow cabinet, and although it is still hard for little me to reach a few things, it’s a lot easier than it was before. I can see everything, which is wonderful! It isn’t the best set-up…I would love a real pantry someday soon, but for now this will have to do.
Pantry
Aren’t those light bulb moments just amazing?? It’s crazy how such a small adjustment can make such a big impact…I really can’t believe we didn’t think of it before! Now if I would only quit opening the food cabinet when I want a bowl…

