I’ve had my eye on this pendant lamp from Pottery Barn for months!  I actually mentioned it in an earlier post, proclaiming my love for “faux bois” and tree prints.  It was already on sale, so I kept checking and checking on it to make sure that it didn’t sell out.  As you might know, we went on vacation for a week earlier this month, and when I got back I decided to check on my pendant to make sure it wasn’t sold out and to my surprise it had DROPPED $30 MORE IN PRICE!  Woo-hoo!  So I bit the bullet and a few clicks later it was mine…I mean ours.  🙂

Here it is in it’s Pottery Barn loveliness.  I love the lamp with the black, white, neutral, cool and warm tones.  I can’t make a decision on my favorite design styles, so I like to mix it up!

Here is the “before” shot (that is not the actual light fixture, that is a paper lantern from our wedding that Glenn cut to fit over the hideous “wagon wheel” fixture with broken glass – bleh!):

Switching out the dining room light

And here is my wonderfully handy husband installing it for me!  Wasn’t the paper lantern an improvement??  I’ve been dying to get that thing out of the house since we bought it last July!

Switching out the dining room light

To switch out a light, first of all – turn the power off!  And all you do is re-connect wires.  If you have an extra set of hands, connect them as you disconnect them so that you know you’re getting the correct wires.

Switching out the dining room light

Here is Glenn connecting the ground wire (the copper wire, screwed down with the green screw).  That is very important!

Switching out the dining room light

And that’s it!  Now he’s screwing the housing back onto the mounting plate.

Switching out the dining room light

It works!  Yay!

100_0950

As a general interior design rule, a pendant hanging over a dining room table should hang at least 30″ above the top of the table.  Our pendant came with a few different sized bases and we chose the one that hung the bottom of the shade 32″ from the top of our table – this thing is pretty massive!

Switching out the dining room light

Ta-da!!  I’m so glad to have that old one gone…I did a happy dance as I took it to the trash!

Switching out the dining room light

Switching out the dining room light

I even like it when it’s off.  🙂

Switching out the dining room light

See, I told you it was massive!  Harper looks teeny underneath it!

Switching out the dining room light

Aawww…he installs my pendant and then cooks me dinner!  Thanks, honey!!

Switching out the dining room light

Now I can’t wait to finish the dining room!  On my list:  1). A slipcover for the loveseat that is at the table.  We were going to sell that loveseat, but had no luck.  After I was sick of it in Harper’s room I had Glenn help me move it to the dining room and I love it there!  It’s just ugly!  2).  Some kind of valance to cover the top of the sliding panel system that covers the sliding glass door.  3).  Some white shelving to replace the poster and candle sconces that are above the loveseat.  The black is too harsh in the kitchen – it needs to go back to the living room by the pool table.  I think I’ll actually try to keep a corner of my house light and airy instead of dark and dramatic!  4).  After I get my shelves, I’ll need some knick-knacks and candles, photos, etc. for the shelves.  Like the lovely Pottery Barn photo.  Ahhhhhhh….

