Ah, vacation.  We had a great time in Costa Rica, but as soon as we got home and retired to our own bedroom, I was in heaven.  I think I was asleep before my head hit the pillow.  Yes, that kind of feeling!  What is it about sleeping in your own bed?  I love our bed.  It’s gigantic and comfortable and I could spend all day in it.  I’m blogging from it right now.  The frame is a little dated (I know, I know!) but it’s all we have for now and we’ve had it for years (it was a hand-me-down from Glenn’s sister) so it’s hard to just let go!  Eventually we’d like to get a more contemporary platform bed, but it (like a lot of things!) will have to wait…until we hit the lottery.  But a few things that we are planning for our bedroom for the near future are: 1.) New, matching side tables.  2.) Matching table lamps for the side tables.  And 3.)  A coat of brown paint (not sure yet if it will be chocolate or tan) for the moulding on the wall and the ceiling.  I’ve seen some neat dark ceilings and I think that would make our bedroom even more cozy!

When I began planning the design for our bedroom, all I knew were the colors I wanted; a warm palette of orange, brown, and cream.  I wanted to find a pattern or fabric, so I started with the pillows and did a search on etsy.  I literally searched for “orange brown cream pillow” with the goal of finding a pattern that both my husband and I could agree on (i.e. no flowers!), and I found the Joel Dewberry Aviary fabric through the pillows at Norajane’s shop!

I bought 2 pillows there – 1 square and 1 rectangle.  The square one was intended as a single throw pillow for our bed, and the rectangle one was meant to go in a wingback chair that used to be in the bedroom.  I loved them once I got them – but the square pillow looked so teeny tiny on our small bed!

Here is what it looked like -before- with the 2 pillows I bought (and I made the other square one with extra curtain fabric!!).  But how dinky to they look?
Bedroom 3

I decided to add some more pattern and bulk up the pillow factor.  I’ve had my eye on anything in the “tile” pattern from Pottery Barn for awhile, and I ran across some organic euro pillow shams in orange on eBay!  How perfect!  When you mix 2 different patterns, a general rule of thumb is to use patterns that are different sizes (1 large pattern with large colors and 1 smaller, tighter pattern with more colors is always good), and try to keep one a little lighter and airier.  What do you think of my eBay score???

April 5th 2009

April 5th 2009

April 5th 2009

My husband and I actually both loved -and agreed- on the fabric so much that I bought more of it to sew curtains to cover the closet.  Okay, I didn’t sew them (thank you to my mother-in-law!  But I did hem the bottom and plan on sewing more this summer.)  Check it out!

April 5th 2009

The other thing that I love about the new euro-size pillows (which I bought from Sears online) are super soft and fluffy, so I actually love using them to sleep on!  So there you have it, my comfy, cozy, super-gigantic, gender neutral bed and bedroom.  I could spend all day in there – especially because the window coverings are super dark so it’s a cave that you could sleep in until noon in.  Which is great because our room is on the East side of the house = direct morning sunlight!  Eek!  Alright…time for my nap…

